The Westminister Confession of Faith

The Westminster Confession of Faith was drawn up by the Westminster Assembly which met from 1643-48. It was approved by the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland  in 1647. Office-bearers must subscribe to the Confession as the confession of their own faith.

Chapter 1–Of the Holy Scripture

Chapter 2–Of God, and of the Holy Trinity

Chapter 3–Of God's Eternal Decree

Chapter 4–Of Creation

Chapter 5–Of Providence

Chapter 6–Of the Fall of Man, of Sin, and of the Punishment thereof

Chapter 7–Of God’s Covenant with Man

Chapter 8–Of Christ the Mediator

Chapter 9–Of Free Will

Chapter 10–Of Effectual Calling

Chapter 11–Of Justification

Chapter 12–Of Adoption

Chapter 13–Of Sanctification

Chapter 14–Of Saving Faith

Chapter 15–Of Repentance unto Life

Chapter 16–Of Good Works

Chapter 17–Of the Perseverance of the Saints

Chapter 18–Of Assurance of Grace and Salvation

Chapter 19–Of the Law of God

Chapter 20–Of Christian Liberty, and Liberty of Conscience

Chapter 21–Of Religious Worship, and the Sabbath-day

Chapter 22–Of lawful Oaths and Vows

Chapter 23–Of the Civil Magistrate

Chapter 24–Of Marriage and Divorce

Chapter 25–Of the Church

Chapter 26–Of Communion of Saints

Chapter 27–Of the Sacraments

Chapter 28–Of Baptism

Chapter 29–Of the Lord’s Supper

Chapter 30–Of Church Censures

Chapter 31–Of Synods and Councils

Chapter 32–Of the State of Men after Death, and of the Resurrection of the Dead

Chapter 33–Of the Last Judgment